Call for Nominations for the 2022 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship

The Australian Universities Heads of English (AUHE) is calling for nominations for the 2022 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship, which will be awarded to the best book of literary scholarship published by an Australian-based author in the last twelve months.

Works eligible for the prize include single-author or co-written monographs, multi-authored books including edited collections, reference works, born-digital works equivalent to printed books, bibliographic works of substance and other forms of equivalent scholarly production. All forms of literary scholarship are acceptable, including critical, theoretical, empirical, historical, textual and so on. Interdisciplinary scholarship is not precluded though a work must engage with what is understood as books and writing in whatever form.

Nominated books need to have been published between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022.

The prize is decided by a panel of members nominated by the AUHE executive. This year the panel members are: Chris Danta, Tanya Dalziell, and Paul Giles. The winner will be announced at the time of the AUHE AGM, usually in late November or early December.

Please forward all nominations to the Chair of the judging panel, Chris Danta ( by 5pm, 1st August 2022. Nominators should supply or ensure access to three copies of the nominated text. Either hard or electronic copies are acceptable, with electronic copies preferred. Authors may self-nominate. If nominating a book you have not authored, please contact the author of the text you are nominating to avoid duplicate entries. Publishers may also nominate books.

For any queries, please email the Chair of the judging panel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: